AFRICA

Human rights: UN Independent Expert to visit Mali at key moment in the current peace round

United Nations Independent Expert Suliman Baldo will carry out his fourth official visit to Mali from 1 – 10 March 2015 to assess the current situation of human rights in the country at a key moment in the current round of peace negotiations.

Categories: AFRICA, African Press Organization, Mali | Tags: | Leave a comment

WHO supports tax increase on cigarettes in Egypt

GENEVA, Switzerland, February 26, 2015/African Press Organization (APO)/ — WHO Regional Director for the Eastern Mediterranean Dr Ala Alwan said, “WHO supports the decision to increase the tax on cigarettes in Egypt,” describing the decision as “consistent with WHO recommendations on tobacco control.” The Regional Director agreed with Egypt’s Finance Minister Mr Hany Kadry Demian, […]

Categories: African Press Organization | Leave a comment

IPCC press conference after session in Nairobi / Access details and new time

NAIROBI, Kenya, February 26, 2015/African Press Organization (APO)/ — The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) will hold a press conference on Friday 27 February at the end of its 41st Session in Nairobi, Kenya. When: 14.00 Nairobi time on Friday 27 February 2015 (0600 ET, 11.00 GMT, 12.00 Geneva, 16.30 New Delhi, 19.00 Beijing, […]

Categories: African Press Organization | Leave a comment

Didier Reynders and Alexander De Croo in the DRC

BRUSSELS, Kingdom of Belgium, February 26, 2015/African Press Organization (APO)/ — The Deputy Prime Ministers Didier Reynders and Alexander De Croo, respectively Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Development Cooperation, met with members of the government, the opposition and the civil society during their joint mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), […]

Categories: African Press Organization | Leave a comment

European Parliament / Elena Valenciano welcomes the release of journalist Bob Rugurika from Burundi

STASBOURG, Belgium, February 26, 2015/African Press Organization (APO)/ — Elena Valenciano, Chair of the Subcommittee on Human Rights in the European Parliament, welcomed the release of Bob Rugurica from Brurundi following Parliament’s resolution in February calling for his immediate release. Bob Rugurika thanked the European Parliament for its strong support and gave a statement which […]

Categories: African Press Organization | Leave a comment

New age e-commerce consumers challenge traditional business models

CAPE-TOWN, South-Africa, February 26, 2015/African Press Organization (APO)/ — The rise of e-commerce on the African continent is changing the face of the traditional consumer, and brands need to adapt their business models and strategies in order to remain relevant amongst consumers and avoid a drop in market share. Logo: http://www.photos.apo-opa.com/plog-content/images/apo/logos/dhl_logo2.jpg Photo Charles Brewer: http://www.photos.apo-opa.com/plog-content/images/apo/photos/charles-brewer-1.jpg […]

Categories: African Press Organization | Leave a comment